Day: June 26, 2010


Short for Redundant Array of Independent (or Inexpensive) Disks, a category of disk drives that employ two or more drives in combination for fault tolerance and performance. RAID disk drives are used frequently on servers but aren’t generally necessary for personal computers. RAID allows you to store the same data redundantly (in multiple paces) in a balanced ay to improve overall performance.

There are number of different RAID levels:

  • Level 0 — Striped Disk Array without Fault Tolerance: Provides data striping (spreading out blocks of each file across multiple disk drives) but no redundancy. This improves performance but does not deliver fault tolerance. If one drive fails then all data in the array is lost.
  • Level 1 — Mirroring and Duplexing: Provides disk mirroring. Level 1 provides twice the read transaction rate of single disks and the same write transaction rate as single disks.
  • Level 2 — Error-Correcting Coding: Not a typical implementation and rarely used, Level 2 stripes data at the bit level rather than the block level.
  • Level 3 — Bit-Interleaved Parity: Provides byte-level striping with a dedicated parity disk. Level 3, which cannot service simultaneous multiple requests, also is rarely used.
  • Level 4 — Dedicated Parity Drive: A commonly used implementation of RAID, Level 4 provides block-level striping (like Level 0) with a parity disk. If a data disk fails, the parity data is used to create a replacement disk. A disadvantage to Level 4 is that the parity disk can create write bottlenecks.
  • Level 5 — Block Interleaved Distributed Parity: Provides data striping at the byte level and also stripe error correction information. This results in excellent performance and good fault tolerance. Level 5 is one of the most popular implementations of RAID.
  • Level 6 — Independent Data Disks with Double Parity: Provides block-level striping with parity data distributed across all disks.
  • Level 0+1 — A Mirror of Stripes: Not one of the original RAID levels, two RAID 0 stripes are created, and a RAID 1 mirror is created over them. Used for both replicating and sharing data among disks.
  • Level 10 — A Stripe of Mirrors: Not one of the original RAID levels, multiple RAID 1 mirrors are created, and a RAID 0 stripe is created over these.
  • Level 7: A trademark of Storage Computer Corporation that adds caching to Levels 3 or 4.
  • RAID S: (also called Parity RAID) EMC Corporation’s proprietary striped parity RAID system used in its Symmetrix storage systems.
Filed under: Storage (EMC/NetApp), Windows(2003/2008/2012)

NIC Teaming

NIC Teaming using HP NCU.

1. Perform the initial installation of HP Network Configuration Utility (NCU) and open the utility.
2. Select the network adapter ports for a team.
From the NCU main page, highlight two or more network adapter ports. Then, click the Team icon.
3. Set the team type Automatic.
a. Click the Properties icon on the NCU main page for the newly formed team (white team icon).
b. Under Team Type Selection on the Teaming Controls tab, notice that Automatic (Recommended) is
already chosen. This is the default setting for new teams.
c. Note the name assigned to the team in the Team Name window (for example, HP Network Team #1).
d. (Optional) Rename the team by changing the text in the Team Name window.
e. Click the OK button on the Team Properties page when finished.
4. Apply all changes.
a. Click the OK button on the NCU main page.
b. Click Yes when asked if all configuration changes should be applied.
c. Wait until the All Configuration Changes Were Made Successfully dialog box appears.
5. Assign an IP address to the team.
a. Open the Network Connections (in other words, Network and Dial-up Connections) window from the Control Panel.
b. Under Device Name (in the Details view), open the Properties page for the device with the same name as noted in step 3.
c. Assign the appropriate IP address information based on the connected network requirements.

Filed under: HP (Servers/products), Windows(2003/2008/2012)