Day: January 19, 2011

How do I delete an orphaned share?

An orphaned share is one that the directory it shares has been deleted. If you delete a directory in Explorer that is shared any shares will automatically removed. If you delete by a different method, such as from the command prompt then the share will be left and it may result in messages in the System Event Log of the form:

You can manually update the registry to remove these “rogue” shares.

1. Start the registry editor (regedt32.exe)
2. Move to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\lanmanserver\Shares
3. There is an entry for each share
4. Click here to view image
5. Select the entry for the share you wish to delete and select Delete from the Edit menu.
6. Click Yes to the confirmation
7. If the share had special security set it will also have an entry under the Security sub-key so move to Security (under Shares), select the share value name and delete.

The simplest way to delete a share (orphaned or not) in Windows 2k3 is to manage the computer (right click “My Computer” and then connect to another if necessary), choose Shared Folders…Shares, then right click the share and choose “Stop Sharing”.

Filed under: Windows(2003/2008/2012)Tagged with: , , ,